Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: So you want to buy an air rifle:

Administrator
    Rest in Peace Johan - 07/11/2013

User Info Menu

Default So you want to buy an air rifle:

So you want to buy an air rifle.

As a relative newbie I won't be presenting the definitive be all and end all guide, but I have been through the whole spiel recently enough to remember and be aware of some of the pitfalls.

Lets start this with a warning. Air rifles are addictive, very addictive. Before you know what's happened you will quite likely have a small arsenal and an irate bank manager or wife.

I have read about so many people who have gone out and bought an air rifle for a specific purpose only to find that what they have bought is totally unsuitable for almost anything at all. I realise that many people only find this forum after they have made their "mistake" purchase and start looking for help. This little oration was written to try and help you make the right choice. I am no genius when it comes to airguns, but I have learned so much from this forum and feel a need to share some of it.

I am not going to cover scopes here at all, they are a separate matter that will need at least as much consideration as the rifle and will be largely dependent on your rifle choice.

The first question you need to ask of yourself is "Why do I want to buy an air rifle (or pistol)?" You need to establish the reason so that you can get something that is fit for purpose and hopefully within your budget.

While pondering your proposed purpose lets look at some basics. Air rifles can be largely separated into two types, springer and PCP.