Thread: Bench rest for springers

MCJ's Avatar MCJ

Default Bench rest for springers

Hallo everyone,

I am a novice at air rifle shooting :? and forums. I hope this one works. I have just bought a HW97K with NS 4-12x44 Platinum scope, Waiting for delivery, have not setup yet.

Which of the following would be best to help setting up the rifle as i am not an expert shot.

Sand bags
    Bags filled with sunflower seeds
    Sand bags with neoprene (med dencity) on top.

tia

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

IMO any stable rest will do, the only thing to remember ... don't try and hold any springer down. Let it bounce when a shot is fired.

Sharp Shooter
    The Professor

User Info Menu

The sand bags will be fine provided you support the foreend with your hand as you would when shooting offhand use the sandbags to support your hand.

Reason for this is spring rifles have a tendency to alter their recoil characteristics if placed directly onto anything and will give you erratic results. By maintaining your normal hold on the rifle this tendency can be pretty well eliminated.

Also as Neil states do not try and control the recoil, let the rifle react "naturally" - the recoil on a 97K will be quite light but it needs to be held consistently to get the best results.

Dale

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

My 97K had very little recoil as opposed to my Gammo 440, however -
    I got a big variation of POI when using a sand bag and then my hand.
    In the end I just used my hand rested on something firm and steady. Got very consistant results with this.

hth

Sharp Shooter
    The Professor

User Info Menu

Hmmm, interesting I have not had a problem using hand resting on sand bag - still just goes to showe that what works for one person may not always work for another.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Sorry Dale, my grammar ain't so good. <blush>
    I was trying to agree with your first paragraph in your first post.