Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 40m Grouping

Protea FT Team '12/'16/'17

User Info Menu

Default 40m Grouping

hi Guys

what would be consedered as a good 5 shot grouping at 40m, (not the one hole that some people claim they have).

C-C in ok condition i got 4.83mm.

i want to know what the realistic groupings are, the benchrest guys will have some realy good groupings.

the champion on champion shoot proved that they small grouping are possible but still only a 19mm on the day at 50m

i have seen francois 1mm c-c at 23m what a grouping.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Hi T D, I got a 1.5 mm with a AA with a 3-10x42 Hawke @ 25y (+-23m) NB that's indoor,so if yours is outdoor it's good ,very GOOD, @ 40m. SHOE! WOW!

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

I am averaging about 9.5mm @ 50yards, 5 shot groups (total of 23 different groups) with my s400 carbine.

Gamo's Avatar Gamo

I would like to know how you guys measure groupings. Bare with me im new to the sport of FT. I know that you need to try and keep all your shots in a group but how do you go about measuring it? Do you take it from the furthest point of the furthest shot to the furthest point of the other futhest shot or how does it work? I would like to know maybe i have a good grouping who knows

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Gamo,
    Normally it is measured C-T-C (Centre To Centre) So from the centre of the two furthst points.

User Info Menu

Gamo

the easiest way is to measure the 2 furthest points (the outside of the holes) then subtract the size of one pellet. this will give you a grouping size of center to center.

this is the farest way to measure groups, if you have a .22 the size of the hole will be bigger than with a .177 but the ctc will be the same as you remove the size from the equation.

i was lucky with this grouping, i shot 350+ pellets that day, that grouping was the best. it took me 45 sec to shoot all 5 shots as the wind had stopped. the overall average of the day was around 12mm ctc.