Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scope for Gamo CFX

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default Scope for Gamo CFX

I found this this site today and think that I might get some advise from you guys. I am looking at scopes and mounts for my Gamo CFX Royal. Any suggestions? Please keep in mind I am still a student and my budget is tight....very tight! I was looking at the BSA AR27X32 and the AR312X44. These I can get for R545 and R777 respectively.Will I need to use a one piece mount to eliminate scope creep? The gun is very accurate and if I concentrate I can do touching hole groups at about 20m with open sights. Any comments would be appreciated.

P.S. what pellets do you use for Hunting and is heavier better?

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Where in the Cape Town do you get the best prices on scopes? I live in Stellenbosch and Malmesbury.

Marksman
    The Guru

User Info Menu

I would stay away from the BSAs for a springer...I don't think they will hold up to the recoil.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Welcome to the site, Arnold. I have a Nikko Stirling 4x32 AO on a Gamo CFX. Works quite well, optics not the best in the world but I do not shoot further than 30m. It certainly has handled the recoil up to now. The scope came standard with a one-piece mount. On the pellet weight, there is a thread elsewhere on this site on that, but in short, stay away from heavy pellets in a spring gun. What pellets to use will depend on what your gun likes. What are you using now, it seems as if it works well in terms of accuracy?

Firearm News's Avatar Firearm News

Sorry Guido, I don't agree. The BSA air rifle scopes are fine for the Gamo CFX. I have sold a number of these combos and they are holding up just fine. Arnold contact me off-line on 021 979 0627 and we can have a chat.

Marksman
    The Guru

User Info Menu

sorry Andre...just thought that on a fairly strong recoiling spring gun the BSAs would not last...my bad...

Inactive Member

User Info Menu