Thread: pellet drop

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default pellet drop

hi guys i was just wondering how you woyld work out pellet drop. sorry for the stupid questions im new to the sport

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Get a program called Chairgun. it does all the calculations for you and it is for free.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Airsniper, I presume you are shooting HFT or hunting with your rifle in which case all you really need is to know where to point at various distances to secure a hit/kill!

A very basic way of doing this would be to take a tape measure and place a box at all the distances between 10 and as far out as you feel you are accurate. I wouldnt bother hunting at distances greater than 45 to 50 metres anyway to prevent shooting bird's legs off and other horrible scenario's. You will probably find that you will be better off hunting inside 35 metres anyway especially if you have a springer and want to be pretty confident of a clean kill.

I dont hunt but I,m sure the guy's who do will have something to say to correct me if I'm wrong on this.

Back to the point, place the box at the distances at which you intend on shooting and obviously the box should have a target or targets attached to it so you can check your groupings and this should give you an idea of what is happening downrange and how much holdover or holdunder you need to apply. Take note also of the effects of shooting into the wing and with the wind because should the wind be strong you can expect eratic results and as such you will need to compensate. I usually compensate for wind by staying at home he he!!

I hope this was in some way useful.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

thanx thats a great help, iv got chairgun but i dont know what fps my rifle is shooting at or anything si its quiet useless

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

What rifle do you have and is it old or new?

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Airsniper,