Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice Wanted...

Newbie23's Avatar Newbie23

Default Advice Wanted...

Hi, I am new to air rifles and am looking for some advice. I shot one of my uncles old air rifle pellet guns and would like to buy a spring loaded rifle myself. It will just be for messing around, shooting cans, maybe rodents nothing serious so don't really want to spend too much money. Looking in te range of about R3000 with everything (rifle, scope, mount) Could anyone give me some advice on a good starting rifle, liked the look of the Gamo CFX Royal, what is this rifle like? Also what would be a decent scope for the type of shooting I am doing and what are the prices on scopes about? Any other suggestions for possible rifles greatly appreciated... thanks for all your help

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

In my opinion I will rather get a QB-79. The reason for that is that it wont kill the scope you are going to mount. You can get it at Barain Air Rifles for under R1000.00. Then you've got R2000.00 to spend on a decent scope. I've shot with spring powered guns from 1981 till about 4 years ago and its great if you use it with open sights. I know some folks might disagree but I'm just giving my opinion. I am even considdering in buying one myself again. The only downside is the cost of the co2 cannisters but it sounds if you wont be doing a lot of shooting so it might not be that expensive to run. It only shoots at about 600fps and I dont think it is enough for Rock Pigeons, however with this gun headshots are possible. I hope this could have helped you.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

nm... for a R800 qb79 just don't justify me to spend R2000 scope for it... ps. not sure if co2 can shoot nicely in cold winter... bam50+filler+scope+air tank will go over ur budget. but worth to considering.

Sharp Shooter
    SAFTAA FT Colours '10

User Info Menu