Thread: S400 Classic 0.177 broken Firing Valve P/N S370.

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default S400 Classic 0.177 broken Firing Valve P/N S370.

I've been lost and found, like the walk-away-son in the Bible
    My Air Arms S400 Classic was unused for years and last week I got my new filled scuba tank at 300 Bar.
    On the first try it would not fill the S400, you could hear air blowing as if it was coming out of all seals.
    I opened the cylinder quickly and released the line pressure just as quickly to try and let the seals do their job.
    Silence filled the little room, no leaks, but the S400 was little over pressured at 200 Bar, maybe 250 Bar.
    I started shooting, lowering the pressure shot by shot and this morning it was a perfect 150 Bar.
    One shot and then all the pressure bled out.
    Disassembling it proofed to be a broken Firing Valve P/N # S370 on the owners Manual.

If you read my story this far you would probably bear with me for the rest,

The valve is made out of a steel rod with a bakelite, like bit on the end and that is the only seal that keeps the pressure in the tube, away from all the rest. When then trigger is pulled it strikes the rod on the far end and opens this 'bakelite' seal to open for a millisecond to let the air out behind the pellet, but made out of such hard material, how can it properly seal again.

I need a new P/N s370 and all other seals to make the riffle perfect again.

Regulated valves quotes will be appreciated

Warm Regards

Swannie

Sharp Shooter
    The Professor

User Info Menu

The material is not bakelite, rather a high strength plastic, although I don't know exactly which type AA currently use.

The material needs to be hard to avoid deformation of the very narrow sealing lip.

I have made replacement valve heads in the past turning them on a lathe out of Nylon 6 and re-using the original steel stems.
    Last edited by Dale; 15-08-17 at 15:23.

Sharp Shooter
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu