Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Struggling S510 xtra fac

Marksman

User Info Menu

Default Struggling S510 xtra fac

Hi everyone

I am new to air rifles and recently bought a Air Arms s510 xtra ultimate sporter in .177, but I am really struggelling with this rifle

Mounted on the rifle is a Optisan EVX 6-24 ×50 F1 with Optisan mounts used.

Day 1
    Rifle cleaned with pull through about 8 times. Scope mounted, charged to 190bar and loaded up some JSB monsters 13.43 gr. Was extremely windy and first 20 shots(adjustible power wheel at about 3/4 full) flew all over the target set at 15m. So I blamed the wind and thought the gun must first settle in. Next day the wind was less, fired 10 shots and still all over the target at 15m. I did not have a chrony so was unsure about velocity. I was also unsure if the twist rate of the barrel was enough to stabalise the long JSB Monster at low-ish velocities (no chrony) and this was maybe a reason for the poor accuracy.

Steps taken
    -bought chrony - prochrono
    -got JSB heavy diabolo 10.34gr pellets
    -eliminate bad scope by mounting Nightforce NXS 3.5 - 15 x50 F1 instead of Optisan - no loose screws, all torqed down
    -fire 80 more rounds of the 10.34gr pellets

Results:
    None
    The pellets are still all over target. I get it that a gun has to settle but the spread is so massive that I think something else must be wrong(see target photo). The extreme spreads accoring to chrony was about 39fps for my 1st string, 243fps for 2nd and 230fps for third.

Once Nightforce was mounted I had to move target from 15m to 50m as minimum focus was at 50m.

I need some advice about where to start troubleshooting. Or is 100 rounds for a PCP not enough to let it settle in?

Photos of setup and of target. Note the target is 1.5m x 1m size.

Last edited by HugoB; 27-08-17 at 23:00.

SAFTAA FT Colours '15
    BOSS 2017

User Info Menu

Only time I've seen guns shoot that poorly is when the pellets clip the silencer.