Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Filling station air leak

Marksman

User Info Menu

Default Filling station air leak

Good day to all

I have a secondhand filling station that leaks air at the red arrows.

I have tried the following:

• Using white plumbers thread tape (PTFE), from winding a few layers to a thick layer. It seems to disintegrate as I cannot see any tape on the threaded parts when I unscrew the connections.
    • Using nothing at all after cleaning the threads.

I have tightened the fittings as far as I feel comfortable and near the end of my strength. I have noticed that the thread of the rifle's filling adapter does not completely screw across all the thread and not sure whether they are compatible?

I have searched this forum and found mention of PTFE tape only. Other resources on the web mentions Loctite 545, Vibra-TITE 444 and 446, and Permatex 592.

I have no previous experience with high pressure fittings and would appreciate all assistance from the vast experience on the forum.

Thanks

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

I had a problem with one of my, what I did was, put a o-ring in it and screw in the parts, just have to find the right diameter o-rings, otherwise it will "squash it and will damage the seal and leak again.
    Hope that helps, it worked for me.
    Marcos.

SAFTAA FT Colours '15
    BOSS 2017

User Info Menu

Try a bonded washer

Marksman

User Info Menu

Thanks gfighter

So, this is a process of hit and miss until you find the right size (after judging approximately)?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark_F View Post
    Try a bonded washer
    Thanks Mark F.

Any specific washer? Supplier? Google says it is a rubber washer bonded to metal. And I assume the rubber side goes in first with metal against male thread?

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Lood View Post
    Thanks gfighter

So, this is a process of hit and miss until you find the right size (after judging approximately)?