Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starter kit suggestions

Marksman

User Info Menu

Default Starter kit suggestions

I am new to this air gun thing and I am looking for some advice.

I have about R4000 to spend on a rifle. I am not precious about new or second hand. I already have a Hawke vantage scope.

My research so far has pushed me towards a fixed barrel rather than a break barrel and my budget does not allow for a pcp. But I am most certainly open for all suggestions.

What would you suggest.

Thanks
    Q

Springer FT World Champion '09
    SAFTAA FT Colours '12
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

Advice distilled to what you need to know....

Buy Dookie's LGU... Get some more cash and do it. The LGU has just won the springer world FT title!

Blowing R4K on rubbish (B-grade downwards) means that you will have to raise R6.5K to upgrade.

Don't buy a B-grade gun. All the competent guys that could mod the gun for you (at a price) are either dead or sailing boats instead of tuning airguns. You will sit with an unsaleable dog for the rest of your life.

We will also have to change your name to Quinny!

The Bludster has spoken.

SAFTAA FT Colours '15
    MOT: Swan Air

Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

All springers are made in hell and that is a proven fact. Stay away from them, they will only break your spirit. If you can't afford a CZ200 or S400 then rather buy something like a QB78/9. It is as accurate as any springer and so much more fun to shoot, just lots cheaper. Then save for a proper pcp. That is where you will end eventually, if you like it or not.

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Springers Rule , much less hassle than PCP's , but are somewhat harder to shoot accurately if you are just starting , but they do deliver the goods.

Save up a bit more money and buy a good one from the start if you can , it is worth it , just try not to catch "magnumitus".