Thread: Looking at buying my first pcp

Cadet

User Info Menu

Default Looking at buying my first pcp

Good day everyone

I'm quite new to the pcp world and would like some advice. I'm in the market for a pcp rifle that would mainly be used for bird hunting (In Botswana bird hunting happens between April and September with the purchase of a permit) and includes everything from doves to spurwing goose.

Hunting usually happens over distances of around 25-30m. I've shot with the Benjamin Merauder and Benjamin Discovery and can't fault these rifles except that they don't seem very common in the Southern Parts of Africa.

What should I look for in a rifle? I've searched the Web and it seems like there is alot of debate between accuracy and hitting power/ft/lbs. Do I want a straight projectile (assuming .177 or something with more hitting power .20 or .22)

The rifle doesn't necessarily have to be quiet as my closest neighbour is around 3km away.

Seeing that this is my first pcp I'm looking at spending around R10000-R12000 hopefully with the necessary accessories to get going. And maybe in future then looking at getting something more decent.

Also there is no laws against hunting with air rifles in botswana as long as you purchase your yearly permit it's quite a common practice for the local people to hunt for the pot. Mostly with springers though.

Kind regards
    Wynand

REP: VariTurn Air Rifle Inc.
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

Hi Lostinbots,

First off welcome to the never ending story of air rifles and PCPs in particular. You have been quite specific with what you are looking for, Your budget for a complete setup is a little on the slim side so you need to watch the sales thread closely. Go back a few pages there. I am going to break it down as I see it.