Thread: .177 VS 5.5mm

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default .177 VS 5.5mm

I am sure this is a topic thatís have been covered in depth on multiple occasions but here we go again.

As most of you know I am in the market for a new or used high powere PCP rifle.

The latest issue to enter the equation is the caliber. My heart was set only on a 5.5mm as I have only ever owned a Hatsan AT44 .177 in the past, and always wanted a 5.5mm but I have no experience shooting one.

I always thought that the 5.5mm was just a larger pellet that delivered larger impact but after doing much read I am discovering the shoot of the 5.5mm is completely different regarding the trajectory of the pellet vs the .177 being more of a straight line trajectory while the 5.5mm have more of a curve or bent trajectory. I am lot to sure how I feel about that. As I have no experience with that

1. If I go for a 5.5mm I would need a mil dot scope for accurate long range shooting. I believe you will need the mill dots for any shot over (35 - 50) meter out from what I read. I plan to do some long range plinking. Always been a fan of the longer range shooting and would like to master this skill (regardless of the caliber, so that will be a important factor in my devotion as well. (sniper style lol)

2. Again from what I have read you are limited to choice when it comes to 5.5mm ammo I have also read you normally get half the quantity of pellets for almost double the price of .177 but I am not too sure how accurate that statement is in South Africa