Thread: Phonebook as a pellet trap

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default Phonebook as a pellet trap

Is it safe to use a phonebook as the backstop for shooting at paper targets?
    If it's ok, can the target be stuck directly onto the phonebook or should there be a gap?
    How thick should the phonebook be?
    Is office paper usable instead of a phonebook? What about newspaper? Does the type of paper make a difference?

Sharp Shooter
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

I fill a cardboard box with paper and use it as pellet trap. Works very well. I used a phone book and newspaper in the same way before but you shoot through it pretty quickly. One phone book won't be enough for prolonged shooting. Even two didn't last, especially if you are putting pellet on pellet, then it goes through very quickly. My current pellet trap is A4 paper stacked about 40cm deep inside a cardboard box. I have been using that for a about 2 months now and it still hasn't come close to to going through. I do open the box from time to time to remove excess lead as the lead starts to build up and then creates a bulge in the front of the pellet trap.

Keep in mind I only shoot sub 12fpe air rifles. Not sure how it will hold up against anything more powerful.

Protea FT Team '17
    SAFTAA FT Colours '16
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

What works well in my opinion is to fill a box of your desired size, with old clothes, rags, material etc etc.
    If you really stuff the material in before you start, you can get a lot of use out of the box.
    I just stick a new front section of new cardboard onto the front when it becomes too holey.
    As Riaan mentioned, if you are stacking plenty pellets through the same hole, they will eventually get through.