Thread: At wits end!

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default At wits end!

So I bought a LGV challenger a while ago off the group. Was quite chuffed to have one and add it to the German collection. But that's where the niceness sorta ended. I bought a mze trigger, removed the plastic front sight, added a custom aluminium clocking aid, Lourens replaced the 20j spring with a genuine walther 12fpe one and I weighed down the stock. Now it was done and I was sure this thing would be doing 20mm groups(and probably less) rested at 25m. What in fact actually happened was, when I started shooting, the first 10 or so short fell perfect(literally 10-15mm), thereafter, the groups would open up. The best it and I can do is around 30-35mm group at that distance. Now I've shot the same rifle owned by various members at our club and have gotten my standard 20mm groups, hell I've done this with many many rifles and gotten much smaller groups in good days, even my now heavily modded D34 can do it. I've tried different pellets(many), different holds and stances waited a few minutes between shots and its always the same every time. Could it really be that 3 out of 4 of the same rifles can shoot so well and one be so demanding?? Is there other factors at play here? Oh and just so by the way, the rifle performed a bit worse before the moddling took place, hence me doing the mods in the first place. I've checked all seals, the barrel crown and all bolts and screws, all is good there. I'm dumb struck, this is probably my favourite rifle, yes even over my TX and 97! But it just does not perform like its German counterparts. Ek wil somer huil, help aseblief ouens, wat gaan heir aan???
    Last edited by madness; 08-12-18 at 07:29.

Sharp Shooter
    Lifetime Forum Sponsor
    ARF Member Of The Year 2018

User Info Menu

I presume you have chronied it and speed is consistent.
    If so...then check the following.