Thread: A stroll down the stony path.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default A stroll down the stony path.

I've had an interest in guns all my life.
    But it was only in the last year, having settled into the roles of landowner, home owner and card-carrying member of the naughty forties, that I've been able to indulge that interest fully, and devote regular time to shooting.

I've been shooting at least a few times a week for about six months now, and I've made a few observations that I hope can help others who are new to airgunning navigate the twisting, turning path of this exhilarating (and sometimes exasperating) sport.

1: It's (mostly) not worth buying cheap guns.
    After starting out wanting a PCP rifle, I decided to take the cautious route, and got into target shooting and small-game hunting with a Stoeger ATAC S2 in 5.5mm.
    I didn't read any impartial reviews by owners. I bought the gun new for three compelling reasons: A) It came recommended by Richard, a good friend who's since become my hunting partner and who had the same gun in 4.5mm, B) I liked the looks and detailing, and C) it cost me R2 995 brand new, plus couriering and two tins of pellets.
    The gun fit me nicely, came standard with a good scope, and was friendly to use.
    It was also the most terrible gun I've ever owned. The standard trigger was heavy as anything with too much creep, the recoil could sting your cheek if you didn't hold the gun just right, and accuracy was a foreign concept. It wouldn't group consistently no matter what pellets I used, what improvements I made to my basic shooting technique, or how well I read distances and wind.
    Richard had exactly the same problems. Both of us sold our Stoegers within two weeks of each other. Richard did a lot of reading of impartial reviews, and replaced his Stoeger with a Gamo CFX / Hawke 3-9x40 combo. (His current pigeon count with the gun is about 50, and I downed my first two birds with the same gun.)