Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Looking at getting into Field Target shooting

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default Looking at getting into Field Target shooting

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new at this and reaching out for not only advice but maybe someone has some kit they have not advertised that may be ideal for my purpose.

So, I have played around a bit with break-necks in the "cheap" range, Gamo Shadow Hunter and used this to cull the Indian Mina issue in my garden.

Recently I purchased a Gamo CFX Royale with Nikko scope from a chap leaving for NZ, in great condition and I loved the wood stock. I know this is still bottom feeder stuff in the air gun world but the little experience I've had with it has been a lot of fun and I guess I'll hang on to this one simply as it puts a "smile on my dial" and the old school feel appeals to me.

I have now done a bit of snooping around and have a friend with a PCP CZ200 and he loves it. So after looking at all the various ways I really like the field target idea and would like to get involved with a PCP rifle.

My question is, I have a total budget of around 20K, rifle, scope, silencer (would need to practice at home and not create havoc with neighbours so noise levels at bird farting spec is the aim - Yes I know the rules and laws about firing in the suburbs but if quiet I can keep stuff to myself.) plus charge station and refill cylinder.

I have been advised an Air Arms S400 MPR FT with a 10-50X60 scope would be the ideal setup and from the looks of it seems like a great fit but some feedback from people in the know and maybe if you have kit like this and want to chat it would be great.

I look forward to your feedback.

Thanks,

Ian

Sharp Shooter
    SAFTAA FT Colours '19

User Info Menu

Hi Ian, welcome to the forum.