Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tank to tank refill.

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Default Tank to tank refill.

Has anyone ever swopped air from one tank to another. I have a 300 bar 6l graphite tank for field use, and I just bought a 232 bar 15l for home use. Assuming I run out of air on the one tank, could I connect the 2 and fill the one with the other. I never thought of this before, but is this possible. Any one ???

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

of coz. u can transfer air between tanks.

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Short and sweet. Thanx

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Yes but once the pressure is the same in both tanks no more transfer.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

I'm no expert, but I reckon if you have one full tank and one empty tank - connect them together they will equalize and you will end up with 2 half empty (or half full) tanks!?!? Not ideal.

Protea FT Team '18/'19
    SAFTAA FT Colours '15
    MOT: Swan Air
    Forum Sponsor

User Info Menu

This is something you should find out from an expert on pneumatics, not a bunch of know it alls like us. Call David on 0836314513, he owns a pneumatics shop. He is in Pretoria but will help you with info.

Protea Benchrest (Air) Team '08/'10/'11/'13/'15

User Info Menu

Fill the tank at the dive shop

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

Legally you need to be certified to fill a high pressure vessel over 500ml, but for the benefit of those who will do it anyway here are some tips:

1: do everything SLOWLY. dont forget that you are moving massive amounts of energy around, and there will be temperature changes. Overheating of the tank being filled is an issue, but probably not to serious if it is just a top up. The donar tank valve gets cold aswell, and may freeze up and jam if air is transferred too quickly.