Thread: Is using a stirrup pump bad?

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default Is using a stirrup pump bad?

Someone told me that using a handpump is not good for a PCP in the long run
    i have 2 one a hills that is rusted(retired) and currently a FX i have been filling this way to 190 bar for about 4 years with correct techniques bleeding valve and allowing cooling time.

Basically are pumps bad and will they reduce the lifespan of my guns
    please help.

Sharp Shooter

User Info Menu

I've read that they can put some moisture in your gun. Some disagree. I'm not willing to take the chance

Sharp Shooter
    The Professor

User Info Menu

The pumps do have less sophisticated moisture control systems than those on the compressors for breathing quality air so there is a risk from that, although to a lesser degree for guns with alloy cylinders.

However the bigger problem that I have noticed is owing to the hose on the pump being located at near ground level they can pick up contamination with dust and debris which can be transferred to the rifle if due care is not taken when using them.
    Last edited by Dale; 23-10-08 at 10:15.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

I have found that the hills pumps internals had actually rusted when i stripped it was a sort of brownish grit in it, when it was sent to louis he was not impressed plus i had to replace the male and female snap connectors,

so how do you stop it from rusting and transfering rust when you live 5km from the beech?

Sharp Shooter
    The Professor

User Info Menu

Buy a scuba tank instead.

REP: Oom A's Airguns

User Info Menu

Salt free sea air! There must be a market in there somewhere.

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Yup you learn to love WD-40 being close to the coast is a nightmare on blueing
    gotta get me some dry Jozy air

REP: Oom A's Airguns

User Info Menu