Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pellet weight for a springer?

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default Pellet weight for a springer?

First off I wish to apologise for my many questions. Right newbie here - also I do try and find answers myself, but most times I find conflicting info, and more to the point I do wish to take advice from a 10 year old kid in the States whose airgunning expertise is merely shooting his dads beer cans in the back yard whilst bunking the redneck school / barn. :>

I bought a Weihrauch HW97K (carbine) last week, very different in quality and workmanship to my Gamo 440 Hunter. Extremely pleased with my purchase - the gun outshoots me every time. If I miss target, it's because of me not the rifle.

Okay earlier today I purchased some Crosman Accupells, rated at 7.9g (gr?). I have been using H&N Fields and Crosman Premiers (10.5g).

The Accupells seem to agree with my rifle. However there is a slight noise difference and hence I'm afraid of hard piston slap damaging the rifle. The recoil is not notably different.

Should I stick to heavy's or do you think 7.9g is adaquate?
    I would prefer the Accupells, not only for the increased accuracy but also they agree with my pocket alot more too. :>

tia

regards...

Marksman
    The Guru

User Info Menu

I would advise against using anything above 8.5gr in your springer.
    Barracudas and Crosman Premier heavies can severely shorten spring life.
    Also you will find that springers actually are more efficient and put out more power using lighter pellets [unlike PCPs]
    There are many threads on many forums talking about this subject and the opinions are generally the same...stick to a pellet weight between 7.5 and 8.5 gr for med to high power springers.

Gerrie's Avatar Gerrie