Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Field Target Rules

Protea FT Team '11
    SAFTAA FT Colours '10

User Info Menu

Default Field Target Rules

Hi guys

Just to get some comments following on from the tread of the DQ at the 7 March PTA provincial...

As I'm a newbie to this sport, I'm still a little confused with certain aspects of the rules.

The rules don't always spell out all the issues...As actual examples, the following:

1) I was posting on the UK BBS forum, asking advice on a single point sling. I received a number of PM's stating that they don't like using slings as it HAS TO STAY ATTACHED to the rifle for the entire competition, as the "rules" state that you're not allowed to add or remove any elements to the rifle during the shoot...Now, what do the rules actually imply regarding using the sling and removing it whilst the competition is running?

2) When a shooter shoots at a target, and "misses", ie it doesn't fall over, and the "scorer/marker" marks a MISS on the scorecard, and 1 minute later, while the shooter has just finished shooting at the second target (but is still sitting on the carpet in the shooting area), the first target falls over...what is the rule? Does the scorer/marker change the "miss" to a "hit" on the scorecard or not...unless I can't read properly, couldn't find it in the rules....

3) Slings - the rules state a SINGLE sling is allowed...does it mean single POINT sling attachment, or is it allowed to be attached to the front AND back of the stock?...

Long and short is - there are a number of issues that are not CLEARLY defined in the rules...

Any informed comments??

Thanks a million.

Cheers

Robbie

Inactive Member

User Info Menu