Thread: Far from dive shops

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Default Far from dive shops

I have been doing a little thinking about Pcp verses Springer?s. Well it seems that Pcps and the tops for many applications but there is one big problem and that is to do with the power plant, compressed air. Not this is the question. What would be the best airgun to own say if one lives on a farm in say Elliot, which is far from any dive shop so good quality dry air can be had? Would a top of the line springer be better to have and use both for hunting, (pests) and FT on the farm? What ideas guys. %-6

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

You can always buy a pump or a compressor. Second hand compressors can be bought for very little if you look hard enough.

REP: The Airgun Shop

User Info Menu

Well I'm no expert, but PCP's make no sense at all if you don't have compressed air. I suppose you could buy a handpump... but that seems like a lot of work.

Best bet will probably be a TX200 or HW97K, but there are a lot of other good springers out there.
    Some cheaper ones like the BAM30 / BAM40 can also be a good buy.

The other option is going for a CO2 rifle like the QB78 (powered cartridges)

Look here... http://www.greatdeal.co.za/qb78-bolt...ges-p-666.html

BREYT's Avatar BREYT

theres only two rifles you should look at if you want to buy a decent rifle hw97k or tx 200

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

Well yes that is more or less what I had in mind a good springer such as the Gamo Stutzen, CF Dioper or CFX. They all seem to be fairly good and will do the job that I would require from them very well. Am I correct in thinking that a fixed barrel will be the way to go?

Inactive Member

User Info Menu

If money ain't an issue, why not go for one of those big gas tanks. Think they are around 150 litre.?
    Would need a bakkie to cart it around though.
    You could also decant air into normal diving bottles for shooting trips and hunts.

0.02c (US).

Re: Springers.